Beborn Beton release first new song in 8 years

“Dancer in the Dark” is Beborn Beton’s first new music since their 2015 album A Worthy Compensation.

Beborn Beton

Beloved German synthpop band Beborn Beton has a new song out today called “Dancer in the Dark.” It is Beborn Beton’s first new music in eight years.

“Dancer in the Dark” has a classic synthpop vibe with a thumping beat and piercing synth riffs. Around the 1:20 mark, it kicks into overdrive with a blast of throbbing electronics. And about three minutes in, it adds another dimension with the presence of guitar chords. The unmistakeable voice of Stefan Netschio sounds as lovely as ever.

The music video for “Dancer in the Dark” features the trio having a grand time bowling. At one point, Stefan sings the line “ball of confusion” directly to a bowling ball.

The last time we heard new music from Beborn Beton was way back in 2015 when they released A Worthy Compensation, which featured the singles “Daisy Cutter” and “She Cried.”

Beborn Beton’s new album is called Darkness Falls Again

“Dancer in the Dark” is the first single from Beborn Beton’s forthcoming new album, which will be called Darkness Falls Again. It’s due out March 17.

Darkness Falls Again will be Beborn Beton’s ninth studio album. Here’s how they describe the new album:

There is more than one way to listen to Beborn Beton’s ninth album Darkness Falls Again. It is possible to just dance and enjoy contemporary synthpop hymns that have a solid musical based in the golden ’80s with a dash of cool ’90s influences. Catchy tunes and mature songwriting combine to form a sonic joyride. Yet Beborn Beton also put their finger right on the pulse of our time and speak out against misogyny, sexual discrimination, and environmental destruction.

Darkness Falls Again has all the ingredients that make synthpop great. Catchy songs that make the legs twitch, a dash of melancholy, a pinch of irony, and a knife-tip of anger—music with a meaning.

Darkness Falls Again tracklisting

Darkness Falls Again contains eight tracks:

  1. My Monstrosity
  2. Dancer In The Dark
  3. Last Chance
  4. Trockenfallen Lassen
  5. I Watch My Life On TV
  6. Electricity
  7. Burning Gasoline
  8. I Hope You’re Not Easily Scared

You can pre-order the album at Bandcamp and listen to “Dancer in the Dark” on Spotify.

Related posts