Cover your tracks: Synthpop cover songs of 2023 – part 2

Fresh takes on classic tracks from Pet Shop Boys, The Cure, Fleetwood Mac, and more.

Every year around this time, I compile a list of cover songs from the world of synthpop and darkwave music. I typically include 25 tracks in my list, but this year we’re doing a whopping 50. Were there more covers released this year? I don’t know. I just got better at keeping records.

Yesterday, I shared the first 25 cover songs from my list of favorites released this year. Here are the remaining 25—once again, in alphabetical order by artists’ name. Soon, we’ll get to counting down my favorite synthpop music videos, songs, and albums of 2023.

Minuit Machine – “Lovesong” (original song by The Cure)

MORE – “One More Cup of Coffee” (original song by Bob Dylan)

Neon Space Men – “Leave in Silence” (original song by Depeche Mode)

Night Club – “Cities in Dust” (original song by Siouxsie and the Banshees)

Nouveau Arcade – “Only Happy When It Rains” (original song by Garbage)

Pale Meridians – “I Was Made for Loving You” (original song by KISS)

Platronic – “The Things You Said” (original song by Depeche Mode)

Priest – “Personal Jesus” (original song by Depeche Mode)

Prizm – “Dreams” (original song by Fleetwood Mac)

Raindancer – “Rush” (original song by Depeche Mode)

Ray Noir – “Shout” (original song by Tears for Fears)

Red Cell – “All That She Wants” (original song by Ace of Base)

Red Mecca – “Eyes on Mars” (original song by Chrome)

Rogue FX – “People Are Strange” (original song by The Doors)

Sally Shapiro – “Rent” (original song by Pet Shop Boys)

Sex Code – “Not In Love” (original song by Platinum Blonde)

Sinnerella – “Eyes Without a Face” (original song by Billy Idol)

Some Ember – “Love Comes Quickly” (original song by Pet Shop Boys)

Somegirl – “Ordinary World” (original song by Duran Duran)

Tiny Magnetic Pets – “Ghosts Again” (original song by Depeche Mode)

Trevor Something – “SexyBack” (original song by Justin Timberlake)

Unity One – “Accelerate” (original song by Colony 5)

Urban Heat – “Goodbye Horses” (original song by Q Lazzarus)

White Noise TV – “Forsaken” (original song by VNV Nation)

Zero Corporation – “Master and Servant” (original song by Depeche Mode)

Related posts