Erasure announce Day​-​Glo (Based On A True Story)

The new album is a radical reimagining of Erasure’s last album, The Neon.


The legendary synthpop band Erasure has just announced the release of a new album called Day​-​Glo (Based On A True Story). It’s coming out August 12, 2022, in fluorescent green vinyl and digital editions.

Day​-​Glo (Based On A True Story) will be Erasure’s 19th studio album since the band formed in 1985 in the wake of electronic musician Vince Clarke’s work in previous bands Depeche Mode, Yaz, and The Assembly.

Erasure’s last album, The Neon, came out in 2020. The collection of energetic, classic-sounding tunes includes the singles “Nerves of Steel” and “Hey Now (Think I Got a Feeling).”

Day​-​Glo (Based On A True Story) serves as a sort of sequel to The Neon. According to the band, they’ve used elements of the album to create a “radical reimagining.” Here’s what Erasure says about the release:

An unexpected album, featuring 10 brand new songs, each track created using elements from The Neon universe. Familiar but unexpected, the songs bear little resemblance to the original album, although echoes of The Neon can be heard from time to time. The album is an alternative look at Vince and Andy’s world, and marks the closure of this chapter of The Neon.

Day​-​Glo (Based On A True Story) tracklisting

Here’s the complete tracklisting:

  1. Based on a True Story
  2. Bop Beat
  3. Pin-Prick
  4. The Conman
  5. Now
  6. Inside Out
  7. Harbour of My Heart
  8. 3 Strikes and You’re Out
  9. The Shape of Things
  10. The End

Related posts