Röyksopp teams with Alison Goldfrapp for “Impossible”

Goldfrapp joins Röyksopp for a track called “Impossible,” their first 2022 song featuring “human vocals.”


Norwegian duo Röyksopp emerged from a long hibernation on New Year’s Day with an instrumental track called “(Nothing But) Ashes” that teased something big happening from the band this year. It was quickly followed by a longer—yet still instrumental—track called “The Ladder.”

Today, they’ve finally released a new song featuring a “human voice.” Goldfrapp’s Alison Goldfrapp joins the duo for a single called “Impossible” that contrasts the track’s electrified thump with Alison’s delicate vocals. It is by far the best of the three tracks we’ve heard so far.

All three tracks appear in a playlist on Röyksopp’s Spotify channel titled Profound Mysteries. It remains unclear if that’s the name of a forthcoming full-length album from Röyksopp. EDIT: Röyksopp has officially announced a new album. See below.

In 2014, Röyksopp released The Inevitable End and said they were done with the traditional album format though they’d still release new music in other ways. The Inevitable End served as a fitting farewell for the project, featuring such songs as “You Know I Have to Go” and final track “Thank You.”

Röyksopp frequently works with famous voices

Throughout their 25-year career, Röyksopp has often employed vocalists from the world of electronic music. The Inevitable End most notably featured the lovely, tranquilizing voice of The Irrepressible’s Jamie Irrepressible on five tracks.

But they’re probably best known for their work with female vocalists. They’ve teamed with Karin Dreijer of The Knife and Fever Ray on four tracks, including “What Else Is There?” and “This Must Be It.” Röyksopp has also worked extensively with Swedish singer Robyn, first on a track called “The Girl and the Robot” and later on a collaborative EP called Do It Again to coincide with their joint tour. Fellow Norwegian singer-songwriter Susanne Sundfør supplied the vocals for “Running to the Sea” from The Inevitable End.

I believe “Impossible” is the first time Röyksopp has worked with Alison Goldfrapp. In a statement, she teases further collaboration:

“It’s been great working with the wonderful Svein & Torbjørn from Röyksopp. I’ve been a fan of their music for years, and it was a fascinating joy creating ‘Impossible’ together. I truly hope everyone enjoys the track as there’s more to come.”

You can find “Impossible” on Spotify and other digital music platforms.

Röyksopp’s new album is called Profound Mysteries

Röyksopp officially announced today that Profound Mysteries will be their next full-length album. It’s coming April 29.

Profound Mysteries will feature ten tracks, including the three songs we’ve already heard. In addition to Alison Goldfrapp, they’ll also be joined by Susanne Sundfør for two songs, Beki Mari, Pixx, and Astrid S.

Here’s the complete tracklisting for Profound Mysteries:

  1. (Nothing But) Ashes…
  2. The Ladder
  3. Impossible (feat. Alison Goldfrapp)
  4. This Time, This Place… (feat. Beki Mari)
  5. How the Flowers Grow (feat. Pixx)
  6. If You Want Me (feat. Susanne Sundfør)
  7. There, Beyond the Trees
  8. Breathe (feat. Astrid S)
  9. The Mourning Sun (feat. Susanne Sundfør)
  10. Press «R»

Related posts