Seeming’s new album will include a guest vocal by The KLF mastermind Bill Drummond

The Birdwatcher’s Guide to Atrocity will be out on August 21.

Seeming - Go Small

There are so many headlines here, I wasn’t sure which one to go with! So I went with The KLF because it’s the motherfucking KLF, and it’s the first time Bill Drummond has appeared on record in 20 years. Wow.

I’m just going to do the rest of this in bullet form to make sure I capture everything:

  • Seeming announced their third album, The Birdwatcher’s Guide to Atrocity. The title is eerily prescient (like all things Seeming) given the recent incident in Central Park involving a birdwatcher named Christian Cooper who was racially profiled. Surely Alex Reed had settled on a title before that incident occurred?
  • The 10-track album is “a soundtrack for the revolution,” which seems highly appropriate for the times we’re living in. Seeming’s first two albums felt like dire warnings, but this feels immediate.
  • There’s a bonus CD called Monster that brings it to 19 new songs. Monster, also the name of the rousing new Empathy Test album, is shaping up to be an overarching theme of 2020.
  • You can hear the first new song now. It’s called “Go Small” and it’s about “how to balance the world’s chaos with your own sanity,” something I am presently struggling with. Now I’m starting to think Alex is reading my private journal.
  • Bill Drummond of The KLF performs vocals on track 9, “Learn to Vanish,” his first on-record vocal appearance in two decades. I believe the last song The KLF recorded was 1997’s “Fuck the Millennium” under the name 2K, but he may have performed vocals for something else I’m forgetting.

The Birdwatcher’s Guide to Atrocity tracklisting

The album will be out on August 21. You can pre-order it at Bandcamp.

Here is the complete tracklisting and the album cover:

  1. The Fates
  2. Go Small
  3. Someday Lily
  4. The Flood Comes for You
  5. Remember to Breathe
  6. End Studies
  7. Permanent
  8. Reality Is Afraid
  9. Learn to Vanish (feat. Bill Drummond)
  10. Celebration Song

Bonus CD, Monster:

  1. Be Like Lightning
  2. You Rang
  3. Monster
  4. I Recognize You
  5. Radically
  6. Grief
  7. Quiet as the Dead
  8. Niagara Falls
  9. Something Desperate
  10. Doomsayer (FIRES mix)
  11. Go Small (Big mix)

Seeming - The Birdwatcher's Guide to Atrocity

Related posts