Listen to the new album from Affet Robot

Recommended if you like She Past Away.

Affet Robot

Affet Robot is a dark-synthpop project from musician and songwriter Eren Günsan, who is based in Istanbul. He’s been drawing a lot of comparisons to fellow Turks She Past Away. The name translates to Forgive Robot.

Fiyasko, the project’s sophomore album, is out today. You can find it on Bandcamp and Spotify.

The album’s title translates to “fiasco,” which is an English word describing something that is a complete failure, especially in a ludicrous or humiliating way. It’s anything but!

I’ve been looking forward to this album since last November when Affet Robot released first single, “Budala,” a fiery thriller that showcases the band’s atmospheric sound and Turkish vocals. In the following months, he released additional singles “Saplantıların Kölesiyim“ and “Kargaşa.”

Here is the complete tracklisting for Fiyasko along with the English translations:

  1. Eskisi Gibi Olmayacak (It Won’t Be The Same)
  2. Budala (Fool)
  3. Her Şey İstediğin Gibi (Everything Is As You Wish)
  4. Kargaşa (Chaos)
  5. Tutsak (In Chains)
  6. Saplantıların Kölesiyim (I’m A Slave To Obsessions)
  7. Çelişki (Dilemma)
  8. Terminal

The excellent website El Garaje de Frank interviewed Günsan last year to learn more about his music. He says his influences are New Order, Joy Division, Depeche Mode, Blancmange, Tears for Fears, and of course, She Past Away. You can find the full interview here.

Related posts