Drab Majesty releases first single from upcoming EP

New EP An Object in Motion will be out August 25, 2023.

Drab Majesty

Darkwave aliens Drab Majesty have a new track out today called “Vanity” that features Rachel Goswell, the legendary singer-guitarist of Slowdive.

“Vanity” veers away from Drab Majesty’s synth roots, but it’s no less majestic. It contains psychedelic acoustic guitar that’s very reminiscent of Pink Floyd. Subtle electronic flourishes appear throughout but make a stronger push as the song accelerates in the backhalf.

The band also announced a new EP called An Object in Motion that will be out August 25, 2023. The 4-song EP runs 32 minutes, though the final track is a 15-minute “instrumental odyssey.”

The press notes for An Object in Motion call it the start of a new chapter:

The latest 32-minute EP from Drab Majesty marks the start of a stirring new chapter in the band’s majestic legacy. Written during a 2021 retreat to the remote coastal Oregon town of Yachats, Deb Demure leaned into the neo-psychedelic resonance of a uniquely bowl-shaped 12-string Ovation acoustic/electric guitar. After early morning hikes in the rain, Deb would record ambient guitar experiments the rest of the day, tapping into “flow states,” letting the sound lead the way.

These sessions were then refined or recreated, and later elevated further with key collaborations by Rachel Goswell (Slowdive), Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Beck, M83, Air), and Ben Greenberg (Uniform, Circular Ruin Studio). An Object In Motion is true to its title, capturing the chrysalis moment of an artist evolving, reborn and untethered, silhouetted against an open horizon.

Notably, Deb Demure’s partner in Drab Majesty, keyboardist and vocalist Mona D, is not mentioned in the notes.

Drab Majesty’s last album, Modern Mirror, was released in 2019 and features the songs “Oxytocin” and “Ellipsis.” I included it on my list of the year’s best albums for its fascinating portrait about modern communication and its hazy, dream-like state.

An Object in Motion tracklisting:

  1. Vanity (feat. Rachel Goswell)
  2. Cape Perpetua
  3. The Skin and The Glove
  4. Yield To Force

You can find “Vanity” on Spotify and Bandcamp.

Related posts