Tobias Bernstrup releases new album Petrichor

Petrichor will rank among the best albums of the year.

Tobias Bernstrup - Petrichor

Swedish artist Tobias Bernstrup’s new album, Petrichor, is out now. Petrichor is the musician’s sixth studio album and contains the previously released singles “Private Eye”, “Challenger”, “Stranger,” and “Only One.” All four are killer tracks.

Everything I’ve heard from this album sounds like warm, dynamic synthpop with thoughtful lyrics about everything from historic events to our present-day surveillance state. On first listen, my favorite of the previously unreleased songs is “I Am Become,” which fires laser blasts across a thumping beat, while Tobias sings of transformation: “I am become love, destroyer of worlds.”

Petrichor will easily rank among the best albums of the year. You can find it on Spotify.


Tobias Bernstrup’s Petrichor is going to be one of the best albums of the year. It sorta already is. The recently unveiled tracklisting includes four fantastic singles that, when combined, are going to make one helluva album.

Petrichor will contain 11 tracks, including the previously released singles “Private Eye”, “Challenger”, “Stranger,” and “Only One.” Both “Only One” and “Stranger” have appeared on my best-of-the-month lists, and I named “Challenger” my No. 11 best synthpop song of 2020. The track contains undeniably catchy lyrics about the 1986 Space Shuttle Challenger disaster.

Bernstrup describes the album as “a film noir in cold blue and pink light that you can dance to.” For the record, the word petrichor means a pleasant smell that frequently accompanies the first rain after a long period of warm, dry weather. It has a nice poetic ring to it.

The album will also include a cover of “Heartbeat,” originally performed by California electronic-rock band Red 7. “Heartbeat” was featured in Michael Mann’s 1986 cult thriller, Manhunter, the first film adaptation of Thomas Harris’ Hannibal Lecter novels. The movie left a lasting impression on Bernstrup.

In addition to the tracklisting, Bernstrup also shared the album’s release date, remix artists, and cover art, which features Bernstrup in an androgynous, latex outfit with pink lasers shooting from his eyes. It’s incredible.

Petrichor will be Tobias Bernstrup’s sixth album. It’s due out on August 20, and you can pre-order it now at Bandcamp.

Petrichor tracklisting and cover art

Here’s the album’s complete tracklisting, including its remixes, and the full cover art:

  1. Maledicta
  2. Private Eye
  3. Challenger
  4. Staring
  5. Petrichor
  6. Stranger
  7. Loderunner
  8. Heartbeat
  9. I Am Become
  10. Into Oblivion
  11. Only One
  12. Challenger – Sanfrandisko remix
  13. Private Eye – DMT Berzerk remix
  14. I Am Become – Ash Code remix
  15. Only One – Supermatik remix
  16. Private Eye – Qual remix
  17. Stranger – Xeno+Oaklander remix
  18. Private Eye – We The North remix

Related posts