A-ha release “I’m In,” announce True North album

True North, a-ha’s 11th studio album, will be released on October 21, 2022.


The legendary Norwegian synthpop trio a-ha has a new song out today called “I’m In,” their first new track in seven years and the first song from their next album, True North. They’ve also unveiled a new music video for “I’m In” that provides a first look at the movie they’re releasing later this summer (more about that below).

“I’m In” is an orchestral piece that heralds a new direction for the band. It’s both uplifting and somber. A-ha describes the song’s message in a post on their website:

It’s a song about total commitment and a show of support for someone who is troubled. Real commitment is a leap of faith. Everyone knows how difficult it can be to offer commitment and support unconditionally, but this is what it takes to make anything worthwhile happen – love, friendship, change, self-improvement, careers, a better world. Easier said than done of course but it begins with an attitude, then uttering the words. After this it is all hard work to realize whatever potential your commitment has in the world. Without this attitude everything just gets bogged down with conflicting thoughts, doubts and fear. Just say it: ‘I’m in’.”

New a-ha album coming this October

“I’m In” is the first single from a-ha’s 11th studio album, True North, which will be released on October 21, 2022. It’s the follow-up to 2015’s Cast in Steel and is among a handful of anticipated albums this year from synthpop vets.

The band recorded True North with the Norwegian orchestra, the Arctic Philharmonic. A-ha says its songs are imbued with a sense of place and a deep connection with how we interact with the environment—which you can easily see from the song titles below. They’re calling it their most revealing, most personal, most affecting album.

True North will be accompanied by a film containing footage of a-ha recording the songs with the Arctic Philharmonic in Bodø, a Norwegian city located 90km above the Arctic Circle. It will also include recurring vignettes featuring actors portraying life in the north. About the film, a-ha keyboardist Magne Furuholmen says:

True North is a letter from a-ha, from the Arctic Circle, a poem from the far north of Norway with new music.

The film will be released in select cinemas in late summer.

You can pre-order the album here.

A-ha True North tracklisting and cover art

True North will contain 12 tracks:

  1. I’m In
  2. Hunter in the Hills
  3. As If
  4. Between the Halo and the Horn
  5. True North
  6. Bumblebee
  7. Forest for the Trees
  8. Bluest of Blue
  9. Make Me Understand
  10. You Have What It Takes
  11. Summer Rain
  12. Oh My Word

Related posts