Gary Numan’s Intruder album will be out May 21

Intruder just became my most anticipated album of 2021.

Gary Numan - Intruder

We finally have the release date and all of the details for Gary Numan’s next album. On social media this morning, the legendary synthpop pioneer announced that Intruder will be out on May 21.

You can pre-order Intruder here.

Intruder will be Numan’s 18th solo album. It follows a series of albums, Splinter (Songs from a Broken Mind) and Savage (Songs from a Broken World), that are some of Numan’s best work. Savage was among my top albums of 2017.

Here’s what the release notes say about Intruder:

Whereas ‘Savage’ depicted earth as a barren wasteland in which humanity and culture had been largely crushed by the effects of global warming, ‘Intruder’ presents a fresh but complementary narrative. It’s a philosophical examination of a potential future apocalypse: the planet can only survive by purging its inhabitants.

Numan recorded Intruder with producer Ade Fenton, who has been largely responsible for the musician’s electrifying new sound. It’s their fifth album together since Jagged in 2006.

The album’s lead single and its title track will be released on Monday, January 11.

Gary Numan’s Intruder tracklist and cover art

Here is the complete tracklisting and cover art for Intruder:

  1. Betrayed
  2. The Gift
  3. I Am Screaming
  4. Intruder
  5. Is This World Not Enough
  6. A Black Sun
  7. The Chosen
  8. And It Breaks Me Again
  9. Saints And Liars
  10. Now And Forever
  11. The End of Dragons
  12. When You Fall

Gary Numan - Intruder

Related posts