New Neuroticfish album coming in December 2023

Neuroticfish’s seventh album is called The Demystification of the Human Heart.


German electronic music project Neuroticfish has revealed the release of their next album. It’s called The Demystification of the Human Heart, and it will be out December 15.

The album is now available for pre-order at Bandcamp. You can also stream its first track, “Imposter Syndrome.” We’ve previously heard a hard instrumental track called “Sleep” that appeared on Neuroticfish’s Velocity N20 EP released in 2022.

The Demystification of the Human Heart is Neuroticfish’s seventh album. It’s been five years since their last album, the outstanding 2018 release Antidoron, which includes the songs “Fluchtreflex” and “Fail to Disagree.” Incidentally, Antidoron also arrived in December, which always adds an extra challenge to compiling year-end lists.

Neuroticfish recently worked with Morphose

We may have veteran music producer Christoph Schauer to thank for Neuroticfish’s forthcoming output. Christoph scores music for films and television series and is a member of the band CYTO. In 2021, he launched a new project called Morphose that features guest singers, including Neuroticfish frontman Sascha Klein.

When Morphose released its debut EP, The Inexplicable Darkness of Light, Sascha performed on two songs, “Moveout” and “Surrender.” He’s since appeared on a third track, “Undertow,” from Morphose’s new release, The Open Shutter. Sascha says working on Morphose relieved him of writer’s block brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic:

I was lucky to stay healthy and I hope I will be in the future, but something killed my inspiration and my drive to write music instantly. I had so many plans for releases, shows, etc.—but nothing got me writing. To be honest, I admire and envy artists who can sit down and write. I can’t—I need some kind of input, I need something to fuel my machine.

Music for a paranormal life

Sascha formed Neuroticfish in the early ’90s just as the EBM sounds at the time were integrating trance elements to forge futurepop. He cites Skinny Puppy, Nine Inch Nails, and Depeche Mode as influences. Henning Verlage later joined the project to contribute additional keyboards and production.

I’ve been a big fan of Neuroticfish since the first time I heard their anthem, “M.F.A.P.L.” They’re also known for many other dark scene hits, including “Velocity,” “Skin,” and “Prostitute.”

In 2008, Neuroticfish somewhat infamously announced the demise of the project, following their performance at the Wave-Gotik-Treffen festival in Germany. They resurfaced in 2012 and eventually released the album A Sign of Life.

The band has become synonymous with their catchphrase, “Electronic Body Music is dead.”

The Demystification of the Human Heart tracklisting and cover art

The Demystification Of The Human Heart will contain 12 tracks:

  1. Imposter Syndrome
  2. Bring The Noise
  3. Echokammer
  4. Light My Way
  5. How To Suffer
  6. Rival
  7. We Are Not Safe
  8. Rain
  9. Everything
  10. Tail Lights
  11. Sleep
  12. Gone

Related posts