IAMX to release two “cold, grinding” albums in 2023

Watch the video for “The X ID,” the first single from upcoming album Fault Lines 1.


Last year, IAMX, the enigmatic musical project created by Chris Corner, unveiled plans to release two new albums in 2023. Further information, including release dates, is here, along with the first taste of those albums.

First up, IAMX will release album one, Fault Lines1, on May 12. It will be IAMX’s ninth studio album. I’m told it will contain a harder vibe with cold, grinding, synthetic soundscapes.

A second album will be released later this year, though we don’t know much about it yet. It may be called Fault Lines2, but that’s just speculation. IAMX plans to start promoting it in July.

Listen to first single “The X ID”

On Friday, IAMX shared the first single from Fault Lines1, a track called “The X ID.” It’s a blend of electronic, rock, and alternative styles, along with the introspective and emotional lyrics that IAMX is known for. I really like the autobiographical nature of the song, offering a meaningful depiction of the X in IAMX’s name.

“The X ID” is accompanied by a music video shot amongst the southern California superbloom. Here’s how Chris describes the song:

“The X ID” is and has always been a major part of my personality. It is my brutal, provocative gender bending screaming inner demon, my magnetic swaggering hedonistic ego, the deepest darkest beautiful me which I am able to live out through this music. On stage, in videos, through my community.

Over time I have learned to embrace, inhabit and wield this X ID. Without hesitation or guilt. And I see it as my duty to encourage others to embody and express who they are.

IAMX will drop the second single from Fault Lines1 on May 9, just days before the album release.

Fault Lines1 tracklisting and cover art

Fault Lines1 will contain 8 tracks, including a song called “Thanatos,” the Greek personification of death.

  1. Disciple
  2. Fault Lines
  3. In Bondage
  4. The X ID
  5. Radical Self-Love
  6. Thanatos
  7. The Truth
  8. Army Of The Winter Sun

You can pre-order Fault Lines1 at Bandcamp.

Related posts