Beyond Border releases debut album, Awakening

Awakening is the first part of a planned trilogy called Welcome to the Future.

Beyond Border


The debut album from Beyond Border is out today. Awakening is the first part of a planned trilogy of albums called Welcome to the Future.

Awakening is one of the best albums of the year. In addition to outstanding pre-release singles like “What Makes the World Go Round” and “Pry Open,” Awakening includes nine new songs of upbeat, forward-thinking electro. At least two tracks, “Number 23” and “Life in a Purge,” were partially inspired by movies, and there’s also a compelling cover of “Cry Little Sister,” the theme song from ’80s vampire flick The Lost Boys.

You can find Awakening on Bandcamp and Spotify.


German duo Beyond Border is one of the most exciting new bands in the world. They burst onto the scene last year with a collection of songs so spectacular, I named them best new synthpop artist of the year. Miraculously, they have yet to release a full-length album.

That is about to change. Beyond Border just announced that their debut album arrives next month. It’s titled Awakening, and it’s the first part of a trilogy they’re calling Welcome to the Future. Awakening, which is due out on December 21, just became my most anticipated new release.

The album will include nine new songs as well as three previously released singles, “Construction,” “Pry Open,” and “What Makes the World Go Round.” You can find the full tracklisting below, but I can’t help but notice that one of the new tracks is called “Cry Little Sister.” I’ll have to ask the guys if that’s a cover of the famous Lost Boys theme.

“What Makes the World Go Round” arrived in April and made an immediate impact. The high-energy song is a celebration of music, dancing, friendship, and all the other joyous things that get us through life. It remains one of my favorite songs of the year.

For those of you new to Beyond Border, they are singer Kai “Iggi” Németh and music producer Michael “Deity” Deiters. Kai is also a member of the band In Good Faith, and Deity is a DJ in Hanover.

Awakening tracklisting

  1. You
  2. Aching
  3. Immortal Stars
  4. What Makes The World Go Round
  5. Urban Hymn
  6. Number 23
  7. Simplify
  8. Life In A Purge
  9. Darkest Night
  10. Pry Open
  11. Construction
  12. Cry Little Sister
  13. Number 23 (Floorkiller Mix)

Related posts